RuPay Prime - Prime Men’s Volleyball League - India


Start date: 01.08.2023

End date: 31.08.2023

Season 2023 / 23


The Prime Volleyball League (PVL), also known as RuPay Prime Volleyball League due to sponsorship, is a professional men's indoor volleyball league in India. It kicked off its inaugural season in February 2022. This league is organized by Baseline Ventures and is not associated with the Volleyball Federation of India. 

It's essentially a revamped version of the Pro Volleyball League that previously took place in February 2019. Sony Pictures Networks India serves as the official broadcaster, and RuPay is the title sponsor, having signed a three-year contract for sponsorship.

The Pro Volleyball League in India was initially launched by the Volleyball Federation of India (VFI) and Baseline Ventures in 2019, with Chennai Spartans winning the inaugural season. However, disputes led to its discontinuation in the same year.

In 2021, Baseline Ventures partnered with some previous franchise owners to create the Prime Volleyball League, unrelated to VFI. In 2022, VFI introduced the Indian Volleyball League as its officially recognized league. Volleyball World signed a multi-year contract with the Prime Volleyball League for global broadcasting.

Additionally, the 2023 Prime Volleyball League season saw the addition of an eighth team, the Mumbai Meteors, purchased by the owners of PhonePe.