Superliga - Brazilian Volleyball Men’s League


Start date: 01.08.2023

End date: 31.12.2024

Season 2023 / 24


Brazil's highest-tier professional volleyball competition is known as the Brazilian Volleyball Super League, or "Superliga Brasileira de Voleibol" in Portuguese. This league is overseen by the Brazilian Volleyball Confederation and features both men's and women's tournaments running concurrently under the same name. The number of participating clubs can change yearly, and the team that emerges as the champion earns a spot in the South American Championship.    Before the early 1960s, Brazil only had state-level volleyball competitions due to vast distances and limited transportation. In 1962, the first national competition, the Guarani Trophy of Champion Clubs, emerged. It evolved into the Brazilian Championship of Champion Clubs in 1964. A hiatus occurred from 1965 to 1967, but in 1968, the Brazilian Trophy included teams from Rio de Janeiro, São Paulo, and Minas Gerais. This format continued until 1975.   In 1976, the competition became truly national, allowing amateur clubs from all states, and was renamed the Brazilian Championship. It became annual and allowed professional teams in 1980. The format changed again in 1988 when it followed the northern hemisphere calendar and was renamed the Brazilian National League, remaining until the 1993-94 season.   There will be 12 teams participating in the 2023/24 Brazillian Men’s Superliga:
  • Apan Vôlei/Blumenau
  • Araguari Vôlei
  • Azulim Gabarito/Monte Carmelo
  • Farma Conde Vôlei São José
  • Itambé/Minas
  • Joinville Vôlei
  • Montes Claros/América Vôlei
  • Sada Cruzeiro Vôlei
  • Sesi-Bauru
  • Suzano Vôlei
  • Vedacit/Vôlei Guarulhos
  • Vôlei Renata/Campinas